Author, Researcher, Peace & Conflict Professional


  • 2016/2017 apexart New York City (NYC) Fellow
  • 2014 Winner Burt Award for African Literature, Kenya Chapter
  • 2010 Penguin Prize for African Writing nominee
  • Ist Prize, Adult Fiction Category – NBDCK  Literary Awards, September 2008 Book Week

Image result for photos of stanley gazemba

Stanley Gazemba

The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation has announced the short-lists for the inaugural Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing PrizesKenyan author Stanley Gazemba and two South African authors, Kirsten Miller and Zirk van den Berg have made the short-list for Best Unpublished Adventure Manuscript


Kenyan Gazemba is the author of The Stone Hills of Maragoli, which won the 2003 Jomo Kenyatta Prize for Literature, Ghettoboy, which was Short-listed for the Kwani? Manuscript Prize and most recently Callused Hands. Gazemba is also on the Africa39 list. Gazemba is a journalist and also author of several children’s books. Miller is author of All is Fish, short-listed for the 2005 European Union Literary Award and Sister Moon.


Niso Smith, Founder of the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation says: “The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation was created to allow us to share our love of adventure writing with the world. Over the years, we have travelled together through Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas, and in every country and culture we have found storytellers weaving tales of adventure. The foundation’s aim is to aim is to introduce true talent from across the globe to the reading world.


The 2 Categories below:


Best Unpublished Adventure Manuscript


Stanley Gazemba for Khama
John Righten for Churchill’s Rogue
Kirsten Miller for The Hum of the Sun
Mark Isherwood for Dutch
Zirk van den Berg for Starlight and Stone


The winner of the prize for the best unpublished manuscript will be offered the opportunity of a creative writing residency at the University of Cape Town and career guidance from Wilbur Smith’s literary agent Kevin Conroy Scott.


Author of Tomorrow Award


Alex Atkinson for Jungle Gold
Rory Hinshelwood for And With the Wind It Went
Alice Sargent for Cherokee Rose


The winner of the author of tomorrow award (for the best adventure short story under 5,000 words, written by someone between the ages of 12 and 21) will receive £1,000 pounds sterling. The prizes will be awarded at a prestigious event, hosted by the BBC’s Kate Silverton, at the Royal Geographical Society on 12 May, 2016.


More from the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation website:

 Congrats to all the writers!




Crucible for Silver ..

Published 2008 ‘Crucible for Silver & Furnace for Gold’ has been hailed as re-writing gender in times of HIV-AIDS in contemporary multi-racial Africa

Read more »

Shifting Sands

Shifting Sands is a narration by Kemunto aka Kemu to her three girlfriends. We follow the four young girls as they mature into young ladies on this adventure called life

Read more »

The Shark Attack

Kadzo must now spill the beans! Yes, the value of her amputated leg out-weighs that of the thousands, or even millions of shillings earned from peddling and transporting Mono-eye’s cargo

Read more »