Author, Researcher, Peace & Conflict Professional


  • 2016/2017 apexart New York City (NYC) Fellow
  • 2014 Winner Burt Award for African Literature, Kenya Chapter
  • 2010 Penguin Prize for African Writing nominee
  • Ist Prize, Adult Fiction Category – NBDCK  Literary Awards, September 2008 Book Week

 Fiston Mwanza Mujila of the Democratic Republic of Congo has won the Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015 for his debut novel Tram 83. The announcement was made last night at the Intercontinental Hotel in Victoria Island, Lagos. Tram 83 is a story about two friends, one a budding writer home from abroad, the other an ambitious racketeer, who meet in a notorious nightclub, Tram 83,  in a war-torn country in secession, surrounded by profit-seekers of all languages and nationalities. It plunges the reader into the modern African gold rush, cynically and comically, using jazz rhythms to weave a tale of human relationships in a world that has become a global village. The novel which was initially in French has been translated into English by Roland Glasser. Tram 83 has been doing well and is currently on the long-list of this year’s Man Booker International Prize 2016 - which underscores the importance of translation and linguistics.

The Etisalat Prize is a pan-African award for debut authors of published novels. 100 entries were received for this year’s 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature. Mujila received £15,000 prize money, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen and a high-end phone or tablet device. He will also attend the Etisalat Fellowship at the University of East Anglia under the mentorship of Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland. 



The other novels short-listed this year were The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself by South African author Penny Busetto and What Will People Say by


another South African, Rehana Rossouw. This year’s Flash Fiction Award was won by Modupe Ojiolape Kuti for her story, Gone. 


The Etisalat Prize aims to promote the publishing industry and buys 1,000 copies of all three short-listed books to donate to book clubs, schools and libraries across




The inaugural winner of the prize was NoViolet Bulawayo for her novel We Need New Names while Songeziwe Mahlangu won in 2014 with his debut Penumbra.


Chair of judges was Professor Ato Quayson with 2 other judges, Molara Wood and Zukiswa Wanner.


Congratulations to Mujila! 

Crucible for Silver ..

Published 2008 ‘Crucible for Silver & Furnace for Gold’ has been hailed as re-writing gender in times of HIV-AIDS in contemporary multi-racial Africa

Read more »

Shifting Sands

Shifting Sands is a narration by Kemunto aka Kemu to her three girlfriends. We follow the four young girls as they mature into young ladies on this adventure called life

Read more »

The Shark Attack

Kadzo must now spill the beans! Yes, the value of her amputated leg out-weighs that of the thousands, or even millions of shillings earned from peddling and transporting Mono-eye’s cargo

Read more »