Author, Researcher, Peace & Conflict Professional


  • 2016/2017 apexart New York City (NYC) Fellow
  • 2014 Winner Burt Award for African Literature, Kenya Chapter
  • 2010 Penguin Prize for African Writing nominee
  • Ist Prize, Adult Fiction Category – NBDCK  Literary Awards, September 2008 Book Week

The Man Booker International Prize has revealed the short-list of six books in contention for the 2016 Prize! My favourite long-listed novel Fiston Mujila’s Tram 83 which won the Etisalat Prize last month didn’t make it to the short-list but is still in the running for the 2016 BTBA Longlist (Fiction) same as Elena Ferrante’s The Story of the Lost Child and José Eduardo Agualusa's A General Theory of Oblivion both on the same long-list of the BTBA released last week.


For the Man Booker each short-listed author and translator will receive £1,000, while the £50,000 prize will be divided equally between the author and the translator of the winning entry.


The 2016 Short-list 


Title (imprint) Author (nationality) Translator (nationality)

A General Theory of Oblivion (Harvill Secker), José Eduardo Agualusa (Angola), Daniel Hahn (UK)

The Story of the Lost Child (Europa Editions), Elena Ferrante (Italy), Ann Goldstein (USA)

The Vegetarian (Portobello Books), Han Kang (South Korea), Deborah Smith (UK)

A Strangeness in My Mind (Faber & Faber), Orhan Pamuk (Turkey), Ekin Oklap (Turkey)

A Whole Life (Picador), Robert Seethaler (Austria), Charlotte Collins (UK)

The Four Books (Chatto & Windus), Yan Lianke  (China), Carlos Rojas (USA)



1 Shortlisted Books

The 2016 International Dublin Literary Award short-list has been announced! 10 novels have been short-listed and the list includes four novels in translation. The International DUBLIN Literary Award is worth €100,000 prize money and is the world’s most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English. The award was launched in April 1995. Rwandese author Scholastique Mukasonga's novel Our Lady of the Nile has made the cut!

2016 Short-list at a glance:

·         10 novels

·         8 nationalities

·         5 women

·         5 men

·         4 in translation

·         1 Irish author



International DUBLIN Literary Award

The International DUBLIN Literary Award (formerly known as the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award) worth €100,000 is managed by Dublin City Council’s library service. Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, announced that the 160 books eligible for the 2016 award were nominated by libraries in 118 cities and 44 countries worldwide; noting that 53 are titles in translation, spanning 19 languages and 49 are first novels.

 The 2016 Judging Panel comprises Irish writer Carlo Gébler; Ian Sansom, British novelist, critic and academic; Iglika Vassileva, Bulgarian translator; Australian novelist, Meaghan Delahunt and Mexican writer Juan Pablo Villalobos. The non-voting Chairperson is Eugene R. Sullivan.

For the second time, translated titles comprise one third of the long-list. 


We're delighted to reveal the 2016 BaileysPrize shortlist!

The 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist was announced yesterday and one of my favourite writers Petina Gappah who made the long-list announced last month has missed out! Petina is still in the running though for the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Prize:

Another favourite, Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life has also been doing well and was on last year’s Man Booker Prize short-list:

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2016 judging panel of lawyer and businesswoman Margaret Mountford, writer and journalist, Laurie Penny; award-winning author Elif Shafak, singer-songwriter and author Tracey Thorn and broadcast journalist, Naga Munchetty announced the short-list last evening. 


A new literary award celebrating original unpublished work with a central woman protagonist has been announced. The Half the World Global Literati Award, with prize money worth $50,000 will be awarded to an unpublished short story, novel or screenplay written in English, judged to “have portrayed one or more well-rounded female protagonists as the central character”.

A distinguished panel of academics, writers and media professionals who are “each committed to advancing women’s voices within their field” will judge the award. The panel of judges includes Margie Orford, internationally acclaimed writer, award-winning journalist, and President of PEN South Africa; Anne Harrison, producer for the Oscar, BAFTA and Golden Globe nominated film The Danish Girl; Dr Lisa Tomlinson, scholar, cultural critic and lecturer of English literature at the University of West Indies; Gina Otto, bestselling author of Cassandra’s Angel and founder of children’s social activation platform Change My World Now; Kenneth Goh, editor-in-chief of Harper’s BAZAAR Singapore; KF Breene, international bestseller of the Darkness and Warrior Chronicles series; Michael Marckx, lecturer, writer, environmental activist and former CEO of Spy; and Debra Langley, executive director of Half the World Holdings. 


Crucible for Silver ..

Published 2008 ‘Crucible for Silver & Furnace for Gold’ has been hailed as re-writing gender in times of HIV-AIDS in contemporary multi-racial Africa

Read more »

Shifting Sands

Shifting Sands is a narration by Kemunto aka Kemu to her three girlfriends. We follow the four young girls as they mature into young ladies on this adventure called life

Read more »

The Shark Attack

Kadzo must now spill the beans! Yes, the value of her amputated leg out-weighs that of the thousands, or even millions of shillings earned from peddling and transporting Mono-eye’s cargo

Read more »