Author, Researcher, Peace & Conflict Professional


  • 2016/2017 apexart New York City (NYC) Fellow
  • 2014 Winner Burt Award for African Literature, Kenya Chapter
  • 2010 Penguin Prize for African Writing nominee
  • Ist Prize, Adult Fiction Category – NBDCK  Literary Awards, September 2008 Book Week

Good friends and readers,

I'm taking a short break from my blogging to complete a couple of projects. Back shortly...






Author Han Kang

South Korea’s Han Kang was last night announced winner of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize for Fiction for her novel The Vegetarian. The novel was translated by Deborah Smith and is published by Portobello Books. Portobello Books was one of three independent publishers with novels on this year’s shortlist. The Man Booker International Prize awards both author and translator prize money of £25,000.00 and a trophy. The short-listed authors also receive a further £1,000.00. It’s been quite a journey since the short-list 2016 Man Booker International Prize Short-List Announced was announced early last month.

This is the first year that the Man Booker International Prize has been awarded on the basis of a single book in collaboration with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize. The £50,000 prize will be divided equally between the author and the translator.

Han currently teaches creative writing at the Seoul Institute of the Arts. She has also been awarded the Yi Sang Literary Prize, Today's Young Artist Award, and the Korean Literature Novel Award. The Vegetarian is her first novel to be translated into English.

The Vegetarian is a cautionary three-part novel about Yeong-hye, a dutiful Korean wife who, spurred on by a dream, decides one day to become a vegetarian. This subversive act fractures her familial life and, as Yeong-hye’s rebellion manifests in increasingly bizarre and frightening forms, turns seemingly ordinary relationships into those driven by violence, shame and desire.

The winner was announced last night by critic and editor Boyd Tonkin at a dinner ceremony at the V & A. It was selected from 155 books by a panel of five judges, chaired by Boyd Tonkin and consisting of anthropologist and novelist Tahmima Anam, academic David Bellos, Professor of French and Comparative Literature and Director of the Program in Translation and Intercultural Communication at Princeton University, editor and academic Daniel Medin, who holds a comparative literature professorship at the American University of Paris (AUP), and prize-winning British poet and author Ruth Padel.



Abdul Adan 

The Caine Prize short-list has just been released. Kenyan-Somali Abdul Adan has made the cut! Abdul’s story ‘The Lifebloom Gift’ was published in The Gonjon Pin and Other StoriesThe Caine Prize for African Writing 2014 (New Internationalist, United Kingdom, 2014). His various works have appeared in Kwani?, Jungle Jim, Gambit, Okike and  Storytime. He was also a participant in the 2014 Caine Prize workshop in Zimbabwe, and is a founding member of the Kenyan collective Jalada.


The winner of the £10,000 prize will be announced at an award ceremony and dinner at the Bodleian Libraries in Oxford, United Kingdom on Monday, 4 July. Each short-listed writer will also receive £500. Each of the stories will be published in New Internationalist’s 2016 Caine Prize Anthology in July and through co-publishers across Africa.


Announcing the short-list, chair of judges Delia Jarrett-Macauley called it “An engrossing, well-crafted and dauntless pack of stories”, and commented on the high number of science fiction and fantasy entries. ''The high standard of the entries was clear throughout and particularly noteworthy was the increasing number of fantasy fictions with the sci-fi trend resonating in several excellent stories,” she said. “My fellow judges commented on the pleasure of reading the stories, the gift of being exposed to the exciting short fictions being produced by African writers today and the general shift away from politics towards more intimate subjects – though recent topics such as the Ebola crisis were being wrestled with. It was inspiring to note the amount of risk-taking in both subject matter and style, wild or lyrical voices matching the tempered measured prose writers, and stories tackling uneasy topics, ranging from an unsettling, unreliable narrator’s tale of airport scrutiny, to a science-fictional approach towards the measurement of grief, a young child’s coming to grips with family dysfunction, the big drama of rivalling siblings and the silent, numbing effects of loss. The panel is proud to have short-listed writers from across the continent, finding stories that are compelling, well-crafted and thought-provoking.”




The winners of this year’s Best Translated Book Award (BTBA) have been announced on The Millions website and at the Folly in New York as Yuri Herrera for her book Signs Preceding the End of the World, translated from the Spanish by Lisa Dillman, for fiction, and Angélica Freitas’s Rilke Shake, translated from the Portuguese by Hilary Kaplan, for poetry. This is the ninth edition of the BTBA and the fifth in which the four winning authors and translators will receive $5,000.00 cash prizes in collaboration with funding from the Amazon Literary Partnership program.


Herrera’s novel is about Makina, a young woman who leaves behind her life in Mexico to search for her brother, she is smuggled into the USA carrying a pair of secret messages, one from her mother and one from the Mexican underworld. Freitas’s collection on the other hand is a hilarious debut collection of poetry that among other rib-cracking pieces introduces a sushi chef who cries tears of Suntory Whisky!


The Commonwealth Short Story Prize’s five regional winners have been announced today 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

South African writer Faraaz Mahomed has taken the Africa Regional prize for his story “The Pigeon”.

The 2016 Prize attracted nearly 4000 entries from 47 countries. After an initial sift by a team of international readers, the global judging panel, representing each of the five regions of the Commonwealth – Helon Habila (Africa), Firdous Azim (Asia), Pierre Mejlak (Canada and Europe) Olive Senior (Caribbean), and Patrick Holland (Pacific) settled on the short-list 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Short-list Announced. From this short-list, the judges selected the five regional winners.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize aims to “bring stories from new and emerging voices, often from countries with little or no publishing infrastructure, to the attention of an international audience”.

Chair of Judges, South African novelist and playwright Gillian Slovo, said of the regional winners: “From Faraaz Mahomed’s ‘The Pigeon’ with its playful tone and unreliable narrator, Parashar Kulkarni’s ‘Cow and Company’, a witty satire that engagingly immerses the reader in its world, and ‘Eel’, a simply told and moving story of childhood by Stefanie Seddon to Lance Dowrich’s comedic ‘Ethelbert and the Free Cheese’ and Tina Makereti’s ‘Black Milk’, which impressed with a lyricism that takes the reader into another world while keeping us always on earth, these were all worthy winners and show how well the short story is flourishing in the Commonwealth.”


Crucible for Silver ..

Published 2008 ‘Crucible for Silver & Furnace for Gold’ has been hailed as re-writing gender in times of HIV-AIDS in contemporary multi-racial Africa

Read more »

Shifting Sands

Shifting Sands is a narration by Kemunto aka Kemu to her three girlfriends. We follow the four young girls as they mature into young ladies on this adventure called life

Read more »

The Shark Attack

Kadzo must now spill the beans! Yes, the value of her amputated leg out-weighs that of the thousands, or even millions of shillings earned from peddling and transporting Mono-eye’s cargo

Read more »